



Dear Health Care Provider,

I wanted to take a moment to thank you for your hard work, dedication, and resilience throughout the COVID-19 pandemic. Through the past several months, Delaware health care providers have been essential and critical to our public health response to the pandemic.

As testing—both laboratory and point-of-care—becomes increasingly available in the ambulatory and outpatient care space, it is critical that providers remain compliant with regulations regarding the reporting of SARS-CoV-2 testing. The Department of Health and Social Service's March 10, 2020, order requiring all labs to immediately report all tests and all results to the Division of Public Health (DPH) remains in effect. **All COVID results, positive AND negative are reportable.**

All COVID-19 test results from any laboratory must be reported to DPH via the Delaware Electronic Reporting Surveillance System (DERSS). Providers must confirm with their designated laboratories that they have the ability to transmit results to DERSS through approved methods – additional information regarding, and questions about, laboratory reporting can be requested through reportdisease@delaware.gov.

Furthermore, in accordance with the Order of the Department of Health and Social Services issued on April 9, 2020, all providers who order testing for SARS-CoV-2/COVID-19 are required to include demographic information to include: date of birth, sex, race, ethnicity (Hispanic or non-Hispanic), phone number and address for every patient for whom a test is ordered. Laboratories are also required to include this information when reporting SARS-CoV-2/COVID-19 test results to DPH.

Additionally, all providers or testing sites must also report data and results for all diagnostic and screening testing completed, which includes point-of-care molecular, antigen, and antibody testing, for each individual tested. These data must be reported daily, within 24 hours of test completion, to DPH – additional information regarding reporting, including a link to the point-of-care test reporting portal, can be requested through Dhss Dph RedcapAccess@delaware.gov.

Additional information can be obtained at the following sites:

- If you need information about laboratory test result reporting requirements, send a request to reportdisease@delaware.gov.
- For information regarding the submittal of point-of-care test results to DPH, and to obtain a link to the DPH reporting portal, email <u>Dhss Dph RedcapAccess@delaware.gov</u>.

Health Care Provider Page 2

Executive Orders which may pertain to testing are accessible online (available here: https://governor.delaware.gov/health-soe/)

- Specific guidance on point-of-care antibody testing is listed here: https://coronavirus.delaware.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/177/2020/08/8.17- Rapid-COVID-19_Testing-Protocols_Guidance-for-Provider.pdf.
- Specific guidance on point-of-care antigen testing is listed here: https://coronavirus.delaware.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/177/2020/09/Rapid-Antigen-Testing-Protocols -09.25.20.pdf.

A reminder, all testing must be performed in compliance with OSHA and CLIA regulations or if conducted in a clinical laboratory setting, in accordance with standards set forth by the Commission on Office Laboratory Accreditation (COLA).

Failure to comply with departmental orders or regulations surrounding the reporting of testing may result in fines (\$100.00 - \$1,000.00 per violation under DHSS' authority under 16 Del. C. 107(a)) and/or other penalties as deemed necessary and appropriate. The information, a list of compliant laboratories, and links contained in this letter can be found on the Medical Provider page of the state's COVID-19 webpage at https://coronavirus.delaware.gov/resources-medical-providers/.

Thank you again for your tireless and ongoing efforts in the fight against COVID-19.

Sincerely,

Karyl T. Rattay, MD/MS, FAA

Director