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Division of Public Health (DPH) Guidance for Schools on Mandatory Vaccination or 

Routine Testing (Revised November 10, 2021) 

 

Purpose: The State of Delaware is requiring employees working in K-12 schools (public and 

private) to be vaccinated against COVID-19 or submit to routine testing. 

 

Definitions & Acronyms 

• Molecular Test: PCR, LAMP, CRISPR, or other Nucleic Acid Amplification Test that 

amplifies genetic material for the detection of SARS-CoV-2. 

• Antigen Test: rapid, often point-of-care test that detects protein markers for the detection 

of SARS-CoV-2. 

• CDC: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention. 

• Staff: Educators, custodians, school administrators, school nutrition workers, bus drivers, 

contractors, volunteers, and any other individuals employed by, or working or 

volunteering in, a Delaware school for K-12 programs and activities.  Adult education 

staff are exempted unless also working with K-12 students. 

• Fully vaccinated (against COVID-19): Refers to a person who is more than two weeks 

past receiving their second Pfizer or Moderna dose or their single Johnson and Johnson 

vaccine, per the CDC’s Public Health Recommendations for Vaccinated Persons. 

• Unvaccinated: Refers to a person who does not fit the definition of “fully vaccinated,” 

including people whose vaccination status is not known, for the purposes of this 

guidance. 

 
Considerations 

● Within the week prior to their start date and every 7 days (once a week) thereafter, all 

unvaccinated new staff must be tested for COVID-19 and be able to submit the results. 

Individuals who are within their 90-day recovery period from COVID-19 and those who 

are fully vaccinated against COVID-19 are exempt from this requirement. 

● If an individual has previously tested positive for COVID-19 and is within the 90-day 

recovery period, testing is not recommended because during this period individuals may 

continue to test positive.  During this 90-day period testing is not required if the positive 

test if  documented.  If an individual has previously tested positive for COVID-19 and is 

beyond the 90-day recovery period since the onset of symptoms (or if asymptomatic, test 

collection date), he or she must be placed back on the schedule for screening and/or 

testing. 

● For detailed instructions on utilizing antigen tests, see this guidance from DPH. 

● An LEA or school may choose to increase testing frequency beyond what is required by 

the State. 

https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/covid-19/info-by-product/clinical-considerations.html
https://coronavirus.delaware.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/177/2021/01/Rapid-Antigen-Testing-Protocols_Revised-12.26.20.pdf
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Routine Testing for School Staff 

Routine testing for fully vaccinated staff is not required. All unvaccinated staff must be tested at 

minimum once weekly (once every seven days). Molecular or antigen tests are acceptable to 

satisfy this requirement. Schools are encouraged to offer on-site testing through the Quidel 

partnership, but are not required to offer testing on site. If your LEA or school has a question 

about on-site testing, please contact your DPH liaison. 

 

Reporting 

All schools (public and private) must maintain documentation that all staff are either vaccinated 

or are submitting to regular testing. DPH may request information from LEAs and schools to 

ensure compliance with mandatory vaccination or routine testing. 
 

Policies and Procedures 

Each LEA’s or school’s individual procedures should consider the following: 

• A secure mechanism for handling information on an employee’s vaccination status, 

consistent with how LEAs and schools handle personnel information. 

• A mechanism to ensure regular testing is available on-site if possible. Community testing 

is also available, is free of charge for individuals, and usually takes very little time. 

• A discipline policy, consistent with the LEA’s or school’s existing discipline procedures, 

for handling staff unwilling to either be vaccinated or get tested. LEAs and schools may 

use the Department of Human Resources’ state employee policies and procedures to 
guide their own processes. 

https://coronavirus.delaware.gov/testing/
https://dhr.delaware.gov/policies/documents/covid19-vaccination-and-test-policy.pdf

