The Delaware Division of Public Health (DPH) Contact Tracing Team launched a pre-call SMS (text) messaging system to individuals who test positive for COVID-19. If you received a text from the number 37821, this is a legitimate text from DPH. We encourage you to follow the directions in the text message to receive information specific to you. DPH will ask you to enter your date of birth to confirm who you are, but will not ask for additional personal information through this text message. DPH asks that you follow the instructions in the text message including isolating for at least 5 days, wearing a mask for another five days, and notifying those who you were in close contact with in the 48 hours prior to your positive test. This is the only notification you will receive from DPH.
The Delaware Exposed Quarantine Clearance Letter Page is no longer available. DPH is no longer providing clearance letters. If you need a clearance letter, contact your primary care physician.
Clearance letters are NOT required by the Delaware Division of Public Health (DPH) to return to work or school. Please consult your employer or school for further guidance.
At-home rapid antigen tests do not require result reporting to the Division of Public Health, however, those who test positive should follow the most current isolation guidelines and notify their close contacts and make them aware of the exposure.
Learn more about the difference between Isolation and Quarantine
In contact tracing, public health staff work with an individual who has a positive test for COVID-19 to help them recall everyone with whom they have had close contact during the time-frame while they may have been infectious.
If you get a call from 302-446-4262, or your caller ID says DE PUBLICHEALTH, please answer the call.
That’s a representative from the Delaware Contact Tracing Program calling to give you important information about your health. Please answer the call and take the time to speak with our contact tracers to help with our fight against COVID-19.
How you can help:
- Provide a valid, up-to-date phone number when you get tested so we have the best contact information to reach you.
- Ensure your doctor has your current phone number on file if you get tested by your primary care provider.
- If you test positive, reach out to the people you have had close contact with recently (within 48 hours before your test date or onset of fymptoms) and encourage them to get tested. They will not receive a call from contact tracers.
DE COVID Alert App
Use of the DE Covid Alert App will discontinue on Tuesday, September 6, 2022.
Join Our Team
Apply to be an Epidemiologist with the State of Delaware. See the job descriptions on Delaware Employment Link for more details.
Learn more about contact tracing from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Get More COVID Data
For more data on Delaware COVID cases, testing and outcomes, including demographic breakdowns, go to My Healthy Community